Being a mom I have learned that the scariest sound in the world is silence. I know that when I get a moment of peace and all is quiet that something is horribly wrong and I probably don’t want to know what it is.

Today for example I was sitting down, feeding Tanis and he just drifted off to sleep when I heard it, nothing. I look around trying to locate Carys, who was just minutes ago sitting on the floor stacking blocks and singing but has suddenly disappeared. I quietly call for her not wanting to wake Tanis and she pokes her head out of the dining room with an innocent “huh?” I ask her what shes doing and she naturally responds with the dreaded word “nothing”

Now I know I am in trouble toddlers never do “nothing”

I gently set Tanis down and go out to her and immediately wish I hadn’t. There is cat food everywhere! A whole 17 pound bag scattered across the floor, on the table, the chairs, in the open cupboard that the bag was in, in the vents and on the window sill. I’m speechless taking in the mess when Carys hands me a spoon and smiles, of course I laugh and can now no longer yell at her.

Luckily she has just as much fun helping me pick the food back up as she did getting it out. Now I plan to strive to never have quiet moments or at the very least catch them sooner and put a stop to it. Truly words I never thought I would say, but I hate when its quiet.

